Going Incognito in Google Chrome

If you are using Google Chrome as your Web browser, you can open an incognito window at any time to surf the Internet in stealth mode. Going incognito in Google Chrome preserves your privacy by automatically removing all website cookies, browsing logs and download histories. However, going incognito will not prevent the websites that you visit from seeing your IP address.

Performing the following instructions will allow you to instantly switch your Google Chrome Web browser to incognito mode. First, open Google Chrome as you would normally do. Next, press “Alt” and then “Enter” to open the “Customize” menu. Now, click on “New Incognito Window.” You will now see an icon of a man wearing a hat on the top left corner of the Google Chrome window to indicate that you are in incognito mode. Once you are in incognito mode, you can surf the Internet just as you would do with a normal Google Chrome window.

When surfing the Internet in incognito mode, all cookies are automatically deleted when you close the Web browser. Most websites use cookies to store certain information about your visits. Therefore, removing cookies will cause Google Chrome to “forget” that you visited such websites. Saved passwords, form data, and authorized content licenses are also deleted automatically once you exit incognito mode.

Bookmarks of websites that you create in incognito mode however are not removed automatically, and will even show up when using Google Chrome in normal mode. If you want to remove a bookmark that you created in incognito mode, simply open the Google Chrome “Customize” menu, point to “Bookmarks,” right-click the bookmark and click “Delete.”

You will not have to perform any kind of special action to exit incognito mode. Simply clicking the red-colored “Close” button on the upper right side of any incognito window will close it. Google Chrome will then start up in normal mode the next time you open it.


Enjoyed this post? Share it!